Reviews



Absolutely great - Rating 5/5

Great room at top, facing Leith Links. Jasmine and her husband are wonderful. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewer:Harry D | Sat 26th Sep 2015 | 2 years ago


Pleasant accommodation, lovely hosts - Rating 4/5

Very clean, pleasant accommodation run by a lovely couple. Great breakfast.

Reviewer:Mark A | Sun 23rd Aug 2015 | 2 years ago


Very nice and clean guest house - Rating 5/5

This is a very nice guest house. It is very clean, the family is really nice and helpful and the breakfast is very good.

Reviewer:Tine LineaN | Sun 5th Jul 2015 | 3 years ago


Good Value - Rating 5/5

The owner was very friendly, efficient and welcoming.The room was comfortable and had a nice view of Leith Links, good night sleep each night (Thursday-Sunday).Breakfast was great.Definitely recommend and will return.

Reviewer:Mr. Blair S | Mon 15th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Nice Rooms, very friendly hosts, very good scottish breakfast - Rating 4/5

Nice Rooms, very friendly hosts, very good scottish breakfast;recommended for tours to Edinburgh, from EDI take the bus 35 to Leith Links (90 minutes) or 100 to city centre and then 25 to Leith Links.

Reviewer:JurgenS | Sun 14th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Nice B&B! - Rating 4/5

Nice location, good breakfast, nice host.The bed was a bit shorter for a tall grown up.

Reviewer:Estefania Daniela Gaytan A | Tue 9th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


golf friends - Rating 5/5

second time we have used Mackenzie guest house and found it to be first class great to get to the city easy to park lots of pubs and plenty of places to eat all the best to danny &jasmine

Reviewer:Roger B | Sat 30th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Visiting Edinburgh? Stay at McKenzie Guest House! - Rating 4/5

Friendly Guesthouse in retro-style. Danny and Jasmine are helpfull and make you feel at home. Quiet location with bus stop in front or just walk in 60 minutes to Edinburgh center. Allmost perfect but...We stayed 3 nights but unfortunately complimentary soap,shampoo. biscuits etc were not renewed

Reviewer:Mark Van W | Thu 28th May 2015 | 3 years ago


mid range - Rating 3/5

The hosts were very helpful and whatever i needed they were there. nice breakfast to start the day.My room was to small for 3 nights so would use a larger room next time.

Reviewer:DavidS | Sat 23rd May 2015 | 3 years ago


Nice, comfortable and Friendly - Rating 4/5

I was travelling alone to city of Edinburgh and wanted some peace and quiet. The accommodation offered such, set along the nice green belt of Link Gardens near the Leith Waterfront, it was great. The host were very friendly and smiling. The room itself, was cosy and comfortable. Loved it.. Will sure be back on one of my sojourns.

Reviewer:PrabhpreetS | Tue 12th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Nice guesthouse - Rating 4/5

Nice guesthouse not far from the city center. Kind and helpful owners!

Reviewer:KatarinaW | Fri 1st May 2015 | 3 years ago


Muy buena elección - Rating 4/5

Nada que objetar, buena acogida, instalaciones limpias y agradables y desayuno más que decente. La localización es buena, a un paso del centro en bus. Como única pega, los colchones son algo incómodos.

Reviewer:GLORIA CASTRO D | Mon 6th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Good traditional B & B - Rating 3/5

Friendly welcome, clean and comfortable. easy access to city centre (bus stop - a few metres away).

Reviewer:Penny R | Wed 25th Mar 2015 | 3 years ago


Rev. Dr. Eoin Cassdy - Rating 5/5

an excellent guest house in every respect.The owner could not have been more helpful - unfailingly courteous.

Reviewer:EOINC | Mon 23rd Mar 2015 | 3 years ago


EXCELLENT STAY - Rating 5/5

Stayed 2 days @ MacKenzie fantastic big room, Clean good hosts and great breakfast. My 10yr old daughter says. "I thought it was awesome"Definitely recommend and will use in future

Reviewer:Arlene M | Mon 29th Dec 2014 | 3 years ago


friendly owners, nice- Rating 4/5

Everything in the guest house was tastefully done. The double-bedded room we had was on the third floor, facing a park, very quiet at night. The bathroom is shared but only two steps away, not inconvenient at all. Jasmine is very welcoming.Bus 25 takes you from the city centre to Mackenzie (stopped at Somerset Place).

Reviewer:Xuecun L | Mon 8th Dec 2014 | 3 years ago


nice area - Rating 3/5

Only stayed one night .over all had a good night .when in the aera again.i would stay here as close and convenent15/20min from town centre 5/10min meadow bank sport centre had a pleasent quiet night.

Reviewer:Michael O | Mon 17th Nov 2014 | 3 years ago


Very good! - Rating 5/5

Just ten minutes to take bus to the centre of city.GOOD BREAKFAST.Host is very kind and give us much advice about travel.The room is warm and clean.

Reviewer:LAN M | Fri 17th Oct 2014 | 3 years ago


great quiet hotel in leith - Rating 5/5

Good location, easy access to the docks and the city centre by bus, friendly staff, spacious room

Reviewer:Oleksiy A | Mon 13th Oct 2014 | 3 years ago


Lovely B&B - Rating 5/5

I stayed here on my 3rd night in Edinburgh after spending 2 nights in a complete dump off Ferry Road (Ocean B&B.. don't stay there). Mackenzie's is run by a lovely couple and the place is superb, it's definitely the little things you notice that make all the difference, you definitely get a sense of pride in the provided service.I wish I had spent my entire trip here! Breakfast was excellent, I shall definitely be back.

Reviewer:David B | Thu 2nd Oct 2014 | 3 years ago


Superb - Rating 3/5

Nice stat for 2 Nights and very freindly couple and a good breakfast

Reviewer:Uffe E | Sat 27th Sep 2014 | 3 years ago


really nice place to stay - Rating 5/5

1 min to bus stop, very clean and beautiful room, hosts are very friendly and helpful, big and healthy breakfast. would like to visit again.

Reviewer:Yijia D | Mon 22nd Sep 2014 | 3 years ago


Nice place - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable. Very clean. The host is very kind.

Reviewer:Dong Y | Sun 14th Sep 2014 | 3 years ago


Good value for your money - Rating 4/5

The owners are kind, the guesthouse is clean, in front of a park, the busstop is next door, the breakfast is abundant, shortly a good deal for the money.The mattress of our bed needs to be changed!

Reviewer:Sjaak S | Fri 12th Sep 2014 | 3 years ago


Wonderful experience - Rating 5/5

Danny and Jasmine were great hosts. The breakfasts were delicious there was plenty of variety. Room and bathroom were clean and tidy. Next to constant bus service to city centre. Plenty to do and eat within walking distance. Happy to go back there.

Reviewer:John C | Wed 10th Sep 2014 | 3 years ago


A good place to stay - Rating 5/5

The bedrooms is very cosy andenough space for two or three people. Wifi and TV made it comfy to stay in the room. The breakfast was excellent, a full Scottish/English breakfast and freshly made. The price is reasonable and location is alright, buses go every 10 min to the city centre and it takes 15 min with bus.

Reviewer:Mr. Oscar F | Sun 24th Aug 2014 | 3 years ago


Great hotel.- Rating 5/5

Friendly hosts, great breakfast, close to the center - what do you need for the traveler to Scotland? ;)

Reviewer:IGOR M | Sat 16th Aug 2014 | 3 years ago


Value for money - Rating 4/5

Thank you for a very clean and comfortable staynext time i am in Edinburgh I will book with you.

Reviewer:Fiona F | Mon 11th Aug 2014 | 3 years ago


nice staying - Rating 4/5

nice B&B, good position, good breakfast

Reviewer:Ugo Di C | Sun 10th Aug 2014 | 3 years ago


Super - Rating 5/5

Nous avons passé un excellent séjour. Tres bon petit déjeuner

Reviewer:VEILLE C | Mon 4th Aug 2014 | 3 years ago


Great Place to Stay - Rating 5/5

Really comfy bed, good facilities, good breakfast, good location for me, easy buses to the City right outside the door, good value for money. Danny and Jasmine are perfect hosts. I recommend the Mackenzie Guest House.

Reviewer:Pete S | Thu 31st Jul 2014 | 3 years ago


Pleasant stay - Rating 4/5

Clean, friendly, nice food.

Reviewer:Ruth D | Wed 30th Jul 2014 | 3 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Mackenzie Guest House is the best Hotel in Edinburgh we have booked.

Reviewer:Jesús Rodríguez A | Mon 28th Jul 2014 | 3 years ago


pretty nice place - Rating 5/5

Clean and tidy. It's run by a very friendly couple. They are extremely helpful thoughtful. They keep eyes on guests' habit and what you like, and try to do everything perfectly for you. Location is also good,olny takes 10 miniutes to city centre by bus. And bus stop is right next to the house. I definitely will go back to it when I visit Edinburgh again.

Reviewer:Aili Z | Fri 11th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


weekend break - Rating 5/5

very welcoming, friendly and helpful hosts room was very sufficient breakfast was lovely ideal place to get around edinburgh bus stop outside guest house really enjoyed our stay thanks to daniel and jasmine

Reviewer:Barry L | Wed 9th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


Good value for money - Rating 5/5

Friendly welcome, good breakfast, room comfortable, clean and quiet - I got a good nights sleep! I would recommend.

Reviewer:Richard P | Mon 7th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


Pleasant - Rating 4/5

Clean room, good service, good and tasty breakfast, great value for money.Although approx 2 miles distance from Princes Street, very good and frequent bus conection with busstop just outside guest house.

Reviewer:Knut Ove J | Tue 1st Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


5 out of 5 - Rating 5/5

That was a wonderful stay! Danny and Jasmine were very helpful and friendly, the room as well as the shared bathroom was very clean, and the breakfast was warm and tasty. Would definitely recommend this place to my friends and family!

Reviewer:Yuliya S | Tue 10th Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


5 out of 5 - Rating 5/5

That was a wonderful stay! Danny and Jasmine were very helpful and friendly, the room as well as the shared bathroom was very clean, and the breakfast was warm and tasty. Would definitely recommend this place to my friends and family!

Reviewer:Yuliya S | Tue 10th Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


Very clean and welcoming house - Rating 5/5

Our room was very spacious, clean and welcoming. everything was tidy and clean. we had the best Irish/Scottish style breakfast here (and we could also make our own coffee&tea in the room and we did because everything was very clean). the bus stop is right next to the house and it's a brief trip to the city centre. there is a nice park in front of the house and within a 10-min walk there is waterfront and several good restaurants. we had a couple of special requests and the owners gladly accommodated and helped us. we highly recommend the MacKenzie house!!!

Reviewer:Matthew S | Sat 7th Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


Ok - Rating 5/5

Mackenzie Guest House is a good choice to visit Edimburgh. It is comunicated with the City Center by bus and the owners are quite friendly.Breakfast is very good.

Reviewer:Mr. Jose M | Wed 4th Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


Very good, homey stay - Rating 5/5

We got a family room, which was quite nice. The room was nicely decorated and includes an en-suite bathroom which was decent and modern. Our window overlooked Leith Links and it was nice and quiet, away from the hustle and bustle of central. Danny and Jasmine were incredible hosts, breakfast was cooked to order. Amazing! We didn't want to leave! Definitely recommend staying here.

Reviewer:Fairuzeta J | Mon 2nd Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


Marathon Weekend - Rating 5/5

Lovely place to stay on outskirts of Edinburgh, ideal for Marathon weekend being only 30mins walk from the start areas. Danny and Jasmine are lovely hosts and can be flexible if you need an early breakfast. Lovely breakfast,comfortable rooms and all at a very reasonable price. Thanks. We may be back next year.

Reviewer:Kevin W | Tue 27th May 2014 | 4 years ago


Marathon stay - Rating 5/5

Very friendly and helpful owners. Conveniently located close to several bus lines (including a night one) downtown. The park opposite is perfect for a morning run!

Reviewer:Blanka D | Tue 27th May 2014 | 4 years ago


Wecoming Venue - Rating 5/5

ThankyouDanny and Jasmine for a peaceful atmosphere and homely care.It was a pleasure to meet you both and to have such a pleasantplace to return to after a busy day or two.

Reviewer:Mr. Michael L | Tue 13th May 2014 | 4 years ago


very good - Rating 5/5

Lovely place, very good staff

Reviewer:Federico B | Thu 1st May 2014 | 4 years ago


Lovely - Rating 5/5

Lovely everything! Location, people, breakfast, room, park on street right outside. Really enjoyed our stay. Would recommend and return. Thanks for a lovely stay!!

Reviewer:Tonia H | Sat 26th Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


A Brilliant Place - Rating 5/5

Top marks for everything:a friendly, helpful and welcoming couple Danny and Jasmine running an excellent guest house, comfortable, clean with a breakfast setting you up for the whole day. A very good location with most of places of interest accessible both on foot and by public transport.

Reviewer:Maria M | Tue 22nd Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


Amazing! - Rating 5/5

I stayed 3 nights. It was really good. The staff was so friendly. Rooms and bathroom were very clean.

Reviewer:Fatih Y | Mon 21st Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

My boyfriend and I had an absolutely lovely stay at this guesthouse:Danny and Jasmine are very friendly and helpful, rooms and bathrooms are immaculately clean, good English breakfast;complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, water/tea/coffee in the room were a very nice touch. The location is quiet, opposite a park, but next to the bus stop and the bus brings you to the center in 15-20 mins. Excellent value for money!

Reviewer:Nataliia A | Mon 21st Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


Very pleasant stay - Rating 4/5

The hotel staff is really nice, the room we booked was occupied they kindly upgraded us to the suite. English breakfast is very decent and copious.Warmly recommended.

Reviewer:Benoît B | Mon 7th Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


Review - Rating 5/5

Very good value and a great breakfast

Reviewer:Mr. Stephen O | Mon 17th Feb 2014 | 4 years ago


comfortable stay - Rating 4/5

Clean, comfortable, good breakfast

Reviewer:Monaz D | Wed 25th Dec 2013 | 4 years ago


nice experience - Rating 4/5

nice place,nice landlord.worth to try

Reviewer:可 | Fri 20th Dec 2013 | 4 years ago


Guest House - Rating 4/5

I really had a wonderful time to stay in Mackenzie Guest House. The room is so clean and comfortable. I do had a great relax after a tired day;moreover, they offer plenty of breakfast that you can choice.They are very kind and helpful. It is a great place to stay.

Reviewer:Min-Shao W | Mon 11th Nov 2013 | 4 years ago


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

My boyfriend and I had a great experience at Mackenzie.Danny and Jasmine were very welcoming, knowledgable about buses and areas to visit etc.The room (we stayed in a double with a private bathroom) was lovely with a large bay window overlooking the park.Tea and biscuits replenished daily.It was very clean, practical, with a hint of romance with crown moulding and rich red curtains.Our needs were anticipated and attended to.The single negative comment I could possibly say is that the breakfast (which was home-cooked to order and with a very large variety) was at a set time of either 8-9 or 9-10, and would have liked a bit more flexibility with that.However, it was all delicious and very quick.Would definitely stay here again, and clearly would recommend.Great value for your money.Good atmosphere, and great for a vacationing couple as it was private enough to feel like you were going "home".

Reviewer:Caroline L | Wed 30th Oct 2013 | 4 years ago


A delightful B & B - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay at Mackenzie Guest House. Our room was at the front and the window looked out at the park opposite.It was delightful after a busy day to sit on the comfy chair just inside the window and watch the local kids, parents and dogs enjoying this large, green space.Our room (Number 4) was comfortable and very clean.We had an en-suite and plenty of space to put clothes and luggage.Breakfast was great with fruit, cereal and eggs etc cooked to order.We can highly recommend the local pub - Persevere - which is a short walk away.We had a great pub meal and drink at a very reasonable price.(Good red wine by the glass for me and a Guinness for him.)The Guest House is well located with a bus stop right outside the door. This bus takes you to and from Edinburgh City.Would recommend if you are looking for a clean, friendly B &B at a reasonable price not too far from Edinburgh City. (Bus to and from the airport can be caught in the City.)

Reviewer:Ms. Heather S | Tue 29th Oct 2013 | 4 years ago


Fine stay, thanks - Rating 5/5

It was a good stay with a kind welcome and attention to detail and cleanliness.

Reviewer:Rosemary P | Fri 25th Oct 2013 | 4 years ago


A good find - Rating 4/5

Our room overlooked a large park, was very clean and we were made very welcome by Danny and Jasmine. Great breakfasts, bus stop right at front door to get into Edinburgh, good restaurants in walking distance. We stayed 5 nights and glad we booked at Mackenzie B&B.

Reviewer:Veronica L | Wed 16th Oct 2013 | 4 years ago


great room - Rating 4/5

The location was perfect for our needs and there is a bus stop right across the road which was good if wanting to get into Edinburgh city centre for shopping. great view from our room which was clean and comfortable. also tea coffee facilities and complementary toiletries . breakfast was also very good and the owners very friendly and helpful. already booked for another stay.

Reviewer:Frank R | Tue 15th Oct 2013 | 4 years ago


a - Rating 5/5

A very pleasant stay.

Reviewer:Paul B | Mon 14th Oct 2013 | 4 years ago


Oct 2013 - Rating 3/5

I had a lovely stay, the hosts were attentive at breakfast and the bed comfortable.Room was clean and towels were large.Good accomodation for a reasonable budget.

Reviewer:Ms. N T | Wed 9th Oct 2013 | 4 years ago


Wonderful stay - Rating 5/5

We experienced excellent hospitality at Mackenzie Guest House. Our hosts were very helpful and very friendly. Our room was excellent...we would recommend this B&B to others.

Reviewer:Mrs. Helen M | Mon 7th Oct 2013 | 4 years ago


excellent! - Rating 5/5

Perfect to visit Edinburg!

Reviewer:Dr. Kamel B | Wed 11th Sep 2013 | 4 years ago


Excellent Guest House - Rating 4/5

We really enjoyed our stay, everything we needed was thought of and the food was excellent. Good location for the city centre, about a 20 minute walk

Reviewer:Mr. Richard B | Mon 9th Sep 2013 | 4 years ago


Very Pleasant - Rating 4/5

Quiet location opposite the park. Great hospitality, very clean, good breakfast. Free WIFI. Will definitely be back!

Reviewer:Mr. Mauro P | Wed 28th Aug 2013 | 4 years ago


Our stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent accommodation and friendly service!

Reviewer:Ms. Hannah Z | Mon 20th May 2013 | 5 years ago


An excellent guest house - Rating 5/5

Quiet location on the edge of Leith Links. Good public transport links ti city centre and Ocean Terminal. Easy onstreet parking. Spotlessly clean, good breakfast and very friendly helpful hosts. Stairs would be a problem for anyone with mobility problems. Will definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Kay M | Tue 7th May 2013 | 5 years ago


Wonderful! :) - Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel in a good area not too far from the city centre, wonderful staff and excellent value for money

Reviewer:Miss. Harriet R | Wed 10th Apr 2013 | 5 years ago


Spotless - Rating 5/5

Very friendly, spotlessly clean, fantastic breakfast.Will definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. Richard F | Fri 15th Feb 2013 | 5 years ago